qr

Dyson admits to rain blunder

Cricket, Last updated:

ClubCall.com

West Indies coach John Dyson has admitted to the blunder that gifted England victory in Friday's opening one-day international.

The tourists were handed their first meaningful win of the winter when he called his batsmen from the field when the umpires offered the light with 27 needed from 22 balls in Guyana - only to later learn he had miscalculated with the hosts one run behind on Duckworth-Lewis in a farcical end to the match.
Dyson told Sky Sports: "I thought we were ahead when we were behind by one.
"It's my responsibility, I accept it. I have apologised to the team, it's all I can do. It was a bad mistake.
"It's extremely disappointing."
West Indies captain Chris Gayle revealed Dyson had been looking at the wrong set of numbers when he instructed his batsmen off, but refused to condemn the national coach.
"He was looking in the wrong column," added Gayle. "He explained it to us and apologised for that mistake.
"We're very disappointed to lose the game in this way, but in these circumstances no-one wants to make this sort of mistake and I'm not going to kill him or anything like that.
"There is no reason to point any fingers at this point in time. We're here as a team and we'll go down as a team."

Football News 24/7

League Tables

RSS Feeds

Cricket archives