Caddie mistake sees Lara disqualified
Jose Manuel Lara has been disqualified from the BMW International Open after his caddie tried to hide a 15th club in a bush.
With players only allowed 14 clubs, Lara's caddie discovered the error at the second hole and tried to cover his tracks by hiding the extra club in nearby bushes.
Lara's playing partners Damien McGrane and Swede Peter Hedblom spotted the caddie and immediately confronted him over the incident.
The Spaniard was handed a two-shot penalty for each of the first two holes, meaning his final score went from a three-under 69 to one-over 71.
However, at the 18th hole, European Tour chief referee John Paramor learnt the full extent of the incident and after consultation with the referees panel the decision was taken to disqualify Lara.
"His caddie noticed that he had a 15th club and on the second hole he attempted to lose it in a thick bush," explained Paramor.
"He was seen entering the bush with the bag of clubs by his playing partners, who thought it was a little bit suspicious.
"They went and asked the chap 'What are you doing?' and he sort of fumbled out an answer saying 'I've got this wrong - I've done something bad. I wish it hadn't happened, etc etc'.
"It was clear the club was out of the bag and in the bush at the time. He admitted it straight away and regretted his action.
"We interviewed the player and are perfectly satisfied that he had no knowledge of what was going on.
"It was clearly the caddie doing what he felt at the time was the right thing, but was clearly the wrong thing. He's kind of been asked not to come back and that's how the matter has been resolved."