Nalbandian looks to put incident behind him
David Nalbandian will not be denied his place in the men's singles draw at Wimbledon despite his disqualification at the Queen's Club.
The Argentine made headlines for all the wrong reasons at the tournament on Sunday, when he was forced to concede his AEGON Championships final against Marin Cilic after injuring a line judge when he angrily kicked an advertising board.
Nalbandian has since been fined £6,400, which is the maximum under tour rules, for unsportsmanlike conduct but he has pledged to put the incident behind him and reclaim his position as one of the world's favourite players.
"I am sorry and I regret the kick that unintentionally hurt the line judge," said Nalbandian, who turned professional in 2000 and has earned more than $10m in prize money over the course of a decorated career.
"I never intended to hit him, it was an unfortunate reaction in which I wanted to relieve the loss of a point."
Nalbandian will now turn his attentions to the tournament at SW19, where he will look to go one better than he did in 2002, when he reached the final but was defeated by Lleyton Hewitt.
"I can confirm to you that David's thoughts are about playing at Wimbledon," added the Argentine's agent, Bernado Ballero.