Ref mistake admitted
Harry Redknapp claims that referee Martin Atkinson admitted he had blundered at Wembley on Sunday when he gave Chelsea's second goal.
Juan Mata's 49th-minute shot was not even close to crossing the line yet Atkinson signaled goal and Chelsea went into a two goal lead. Replays confirmed that protests from Ledley King and his fellow Spurs defenders were well grounded as the ball never crossed the line and it has lead to increased calls for goal line technology to be introduced. "The second goal was a disaster for us," said Spurs manager Redknapp. "It was an honest mistake by the referee but it was nowhere near the line. "The referee has made a big mistake. He hasn't done it on purpose but I don't see how he could give the goal. "It wasn't as if someone kicked it away and it all happened so quickly." "He must have guessed because he couldn't have been sure. He has made an honest decision but has made a mistake - but he's not done it on purpose. "I spoke to him and he said he feels worse than I do about it - I said 'I don't think so.' He said he feels bad and he's going to have a bad week but there is nothing we can do about it now."