Griezmann – VAR pen was correct

France

France striker Antoine Griezmann says the referee was right to award him a penalty using VAR in the win over Australia.

Referee Andres Cunha eventually pointed to the spot after reviewing the incident, that saw Joshua Risdon bring down Griezmann in the area, on a television by the side of the pitch.

Opinion was divided whether or not the Australia man had fouled the Atletico Madrid forward, and there were suggestions he had got a touch on the ball as well, but Griezmann was sure the referee arrived at the correct decision.

‘I thought it was a penalty,’ Griezmann told reporters after France’s 2-1 win. ‘However, after the referee did not blow his whistle, I forgot about VAR – all the better for us [that it exists].

‘When the referee went to check out the video, I already had the penalty [in my mind] – I was focused on taking it.’

Griezmann scored the spot-kick to put Les Bleus 1-0 up but they were then pegged back when Mile Jedinak scored a penalty of his own, before Paul Pogba hit the winner to ensure Didier Deschamps’ side got off to the perfect start in Group C.

Latest