More News

  • Follow us on:

Six Nations bonus-point plans revealed

2016-11-30 13:05:00, Views: 44, ClubCall

Six Nations bonus-point plans revealed

A bonus-point system to encourage attacking play and try scoring is being introduced into the 2017 Six Nations Championship.

Under the new rules a team will claim four points for the win - instead of two - and pick up a bonus point should they score more than four tries in a game.

A nation which loses by fewer than seven points or scores four tries in a defeat will pick up a bonus point, while teams who draw collect two points instead of one and again secure the extra point for high scoring.

There will be three extra points awarded to any side that goes on to win the Grand Slam courtesy of winning all five games, like England achieved this year.

The system will also be used in the Women's Six Nations and the Under-20 Six Nations championship after being regarded as a success in the World Cup, English Premiership, Pro12 and the National Rugby Championship in Australia.

John Feehan, chief executive of Six Nations, said: "The drama and excitement of the last weekend of the Six Nations championship is unique and is, more often than not, driven by a number of teams on equal championship points all competing for first place on the table.

"It is important for us to ensure that any bonus point system which is implemented would not, in any way, take away from this unique dynamic.

"At the same time, we are also conscious that we must reward try scoring and an attacking style of play that will deliver more tries and greater rewards for fans and players alike."


match previews

match reports

Bet of the day

free bet offers

betting news


Will Lukaku score more goals for Man Utd than Rooney will for Everton?

Clubcall poll vote
59.04 %
40.96 %
Total votes: 376